Changes in National Mental Health Commission Co-Chair and Members

Brogden.jpgAbove: Lucy Brogden, the National Mental Health Commission’s new Co-Chair

Our National and State Governments both have Commissioners appointed to oversee mental health matters. The National Mental Health Commission (NMHC) website describes its role as follows:

“We are Australia’s first National Mental Health Commission, set up in 2012 to provide independent reports and advice to the community and government on what’s working and what’s not.”

Recently, there have been quite a few changes to the Commission line-up. For starters, the new National Mental Health Commission Co-Chair is Mrs Lucinda (“Lucy”) Brogden. Mrs Brogden is an organisational psychologist and businesswoman, and was already serving as a Commissioner at the time of her appointment as Co-Chair. Professor Allan Fels’ term as Chair expires in late 2017, upon which time Mrs Brogden will assume his role.

According to the National Mental Health Commission: “Lucy… has a strong commitment to helping others and building stronger communities.” Her primary areas of focus are “mental health and wellbeing… in the workplace and the community. She takes an evidence based approach to problem solving and social investment.”

Mrs Brogden has worked with Macquarie Group, Ernst & Young and in “trusted advisory roles with some of Australia’s leading CEOs, Managing Partners, Ministers and Chairs in investment banking, finance, law and government.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s